We are taking the threat of COVID-19 very seriously. Click here to find out what our firm is doing.

What if I Missed the 10-Day Rule

DHSMV SUSPENSIONS - If I missed the 10-day Rule, when can I apply for a Hardship License after I have already been Suspended?

Note: The following material ONLY applies to those who have been arrested and missed to the 10-day Rule and come to Law Offices of Whittel & Melton too late to save their Drivers License from immediate Suspension due to a DUI.

If you have recently been arrested for DUI, STOP READING NOW and CALL 1-866-608-5LAW(5529) while there is still time to defend the Suspension on your Florida Drivers License!

In order to receive what is called a Business, Employment or Work Permit Reinstated in Florida a few conditions must be met.

First, if you are suspended for being arrested for DUI and that DUI was based on your breath sample of .08 or higher then you must do the following to get reinstated from a Suspension:

  1. Must show some kind of proof of enrollment or completion in a Florida approved DUI school [take out ; and]
  2. Must apply for an administrative hearing (this usually occurs over the telephone due to the very few locations it is offered)
  3. You must certify that you have no outstanding, or open, traffic violations in Florida
  4. You must serve thirty (30) days of a "hard suspension"-- in other words you must go thirty (30) days without a drivers license or business/work permit prior to submitting your application.

OR, if you are suspended for being arrested for DUI and Refusing your breath test then you must do the following to get reinstated from a Suspension:

  1. Must show some kind of proof of enrollment or completion in a Florida approved DUI school
  2. Must apply for an administrative hearing, this usually occurs over the telephone due to the very few locations it is offered
  3. You must certify that you have no outstanding, or open, traffic violations in Florida
  4. You must serve ninety (90) days of a "hard suspension"--in other words you must go ninety (90) days without a drivers license or business/work permit prior to submitting your application.

PLEASE NOTE, if you have been suspended before for Refusal on a DUI case - there are no provisions in Florida that allow for a Hardship Reinstatement or Business, Employment or Work Permit.

Contact us 24/7
Toll Free in Florida: 866-608-5529