We are taking the threat of COVID-19 very seriously. Click here to find out what our firm is doing.

Mandatory Drivers License Consequences with DUI Convictions

CAUTION - THIS INFORMATION IS ONLY MEANT TO INFORM OUR READERS OF THE POTENTIAL RAMIFICATIONS OF A CONVICTION. IF YOU HAVE BEEN ARRESTED AND HAVE NOT CLOSED YOUR CASE - YOU HAVE NOT BEEN CONVICTED AND NEED TO CALL THE LAW OFFICES OF WHITTEL & MELTON IMMEDIATELY. 1-866-608-5LAW(5529).

If you are CONVICTED of your First offense of DUI in Florida, the Judge in your matter must suspend your drivers license for 180 days minimum or 6 months, however has the authority to go as high as 1 year.

If you are CONVICTED of a Second offense of DUI within the last 5 Years, the Judge in your case must revoke your Drivers License for 5 years. Hardship reinstatement may be possible after 1 year.

If you are CONVICTED of a Second offense of DUI outside of 5 Years, the Judge in your matter must suspend your Drivers License for a minimum 180 days or 6 months, however has the authority to go as high as 1 year.

If you are CONVICTED of a Third offense of DUI within 10 Years, the Judge in your matter must revoke your Drivers License for a minimum of 10 years. Hardship reinstatement may be possible after 2 years.

If you are CONVICTED of a Third offense of DUI outside of 10 Years, the Judge can follow the rules for a first DUI, unless one of the prior DUIs occurred within the last 5 years, then the court would be bound by the rules for a Second DUI conviction within 5 years.

If you are CONVICTED of a Fourth or more offense for DUI, the Judge in your case is bound by the law in Florida to impose a mandatory permanent revocation. In addition, there is no hardship reinstatement.

If you are CONVICTED of DUI Manslaughter, the Judge in your case is obligated to sentence you to a mandatory permanent revocation. However, if you have no prior DUI related convictions, hardship reinstatement may be possible after 5 years.

Contact us 24/7
Toll Free in Florida: 866-608-5529