Possible Florida DUI Sanctions

Note: Below are a list of the possible Sanctions for a 1st Florida DUI. If you have been arrested for DUI, call the Law Offices of Whittel & Melton immediately at 866-608-5LAW(5529). These sanctions are only imposed if you are convicted. Let’s fight this DUI together. Give our office a call TODAY.

1st Florida DUI

JAIL

180 days or 6 months in county jail. – maximum

0 days county jail - minimum

If your Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) exceeds that of .20%, or if a minor is found to have been in your vehicle, the maximum is increased to 270 days or 9 months in county jail.

FINES

$250 minimum; $500 maximum

If your Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) exceeds .20%, or if a minor is found to have been in your vehicle, the minimum is increased to $500 and the maximum is increased to $1000.

IGNITION INTERLOCK

The court may impose an ignition interlock device up to 6 months at your expense.

The court may also impose up to 9 months of an ignition interlock device, at your expense, if your Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) exceeds .20%, or if a minor is found to have been in your vehicle.

COMMUNITY SERVICE

The court shall impose a mandatory sentence of fifty (50) hours of community service, or can give a defendant the option pay for the time, generally $5-10 for each hour of service is common in Florida DUI courtrooms around the state.

PROBATION

The court may impose a minimum of six months or up to maximum of 1 year total time for probation.

DUI SCHOOL

DUI school is a mandatory condition of all DUI convictions.

INSURANCE

Proof of liability insurance can be ordered, possibly high risk SR-22.

VEHICLE IMPOUND

Traditionally courts will order that the vehicle involved in the DUI shall be impounded for a minimum of ten (10) days. Courts can hear evidence of hardship to avoid the impoundment.